Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships are prestigious awards designed to empower students from developing Commonwealth nations in achieving their educational aspirations. Below, we’ve compiled essential information about these life-changing scholarship:

Scholarship Details:

Scholarship Type: Masters Degree

Deadline: 17 Oct 2023 (annual)

Citizenship or refugee status awarded by a Commonwealth country:

Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sam

What Are Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships?

These fully funded scholarships cover tuition fees, living allowances, airfare to and from the UK, and other academic-related costs, allowing students to concentrate on their studies.

Eligibility Criteria for Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships

To apply for these scholarships, you must first:

  • Be a citizen of, or have been granted refugee status by, a Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person.
  • Be a permanent resident of a Commonwealth country
  • Be ready to begin your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2024.

Why Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours grade by September 2024, or a second class degree and a suitable postgraduate certificate (often a Master’s degree). The CSC would not generally sponsor a second UK Master’s degree. If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you must explain why you want to pursue this course of study.

  • Being unable

Application instructions for Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships:

The CSC does not accept direct application for these scholarships. All applications must go through one of the following nominating entities: national nominating agency (the primary channel of application) or specified non-governmental organizations and charitable bodies.

Each nominating body is responsible for its own selection process. Check with your nominating body for detailed application guidelines and restrictions, as well as their own qualifying criteria and application deadlines.

You must submit your application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS), together with any other application forms requested by your nominating body. All submissions must be received by 17 October 2023, 17:00 BST.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs):

Q1. What is the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC)?

  • A1. The CSC is an organization funded by the UK government, promoting educational opportunities and cultural exchange among Commonwealth countries.

Q2. Can I apply for multiple scholarships within the Commonwealth scheme?

  • A2. It’s usually possible to apply for multiple Commonwealth scholarships, but it’s important to carefully review each scholarship’s guidelines and limitations.

Q3. Are Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships offered annually?

  • A3. Yes, these scholarships are typically offered annually. Keep an eye on the official website for application opening dates.

Q4. Can I apply if I already have a master’s degree?

  • A4. Scholarships are primarily for those seeking their first master’s degree, although exceptions may apply. Review the eligibility criteria for specific requirements.

Apply for scholarship on official website

Leave a comment